Double room in well-located, homely flat with back garden and cat

Holloway, London, United Kingdom
Verified By
RoomForTea Team
Safe & Accurate Listing

Your Host

Naffy & Sam
experienced host
I'm a manager in an education charity and my husband Sam is a human rights lawyer. We're both workaholics but also value personal-time. We eat well (although I love junk food more that Sam does!) and are part-time vegetarians. As a live-in landlord I am tidy but not overly so. I'm used to living in other people's houses so I know how it feels to be a lodger so am more relaxed about things. We have great stories to share- Sam has enough for the 2 of us from his work in human rights. We love getting involved in our area and have busy social lives too. Sam will be living away in the US in 2019 and will be returning periodically throughout the year. We have a 9yo moggie called Minnie so you MUST like cats!
Speaks: English, Malay
Sleeps like a: regular sleeper
Takes tea: strong
Got any questions?

Chat directly with the host to see if you’re a fit.

The Space

Our flat is warm, has lots of art on the wall, lots of pottery in our cabinets, lots of kitchenware in our kitchen. Let's just say this is not a minimalist home, although we reckon it's got loads of hygge! Details: 1 dbl bedroom in a spacious flat- separate toilet and bathroom; fully furnished; kitchen and living room; good sized back garden; space for bikes; excellent transport links tube, rail and buses on Seven Sister's Rd; able to apply for parking. Room is a good size 4.8m X 2.57m. Ideally looking for someone to rent up to end March 2019 as a minimum. All bills included (rent is actually £625, and bills are about £170 per month). Area info: We are close to Finsbury Park Station, with lots of connections. For groceries/shopping, Stroud Green Road is very local and has a Tesco Metro, Holloway Nags Head has Waitrose and Morrisons, and Haringay Green Lanes has a monster Sainsbury's. Or there's a farmers market every Sunday at Stroud Green School. We also have the best sushi place, best Indian, best Italian Deli and best cheesy Italian within walking distance of our place. Oh yes and lots of brunch options.

Ideal guest

Ideally our guest would be a cat-lover. Someone who's happy for the place to be rather clean and tidy and will help us maintain it but not overly so. Our flat would suit someone who needs to work-from-home as the place is empty during the day. We have good broadband and a landline with free UK calls (yes I know who even owns one of these anymore??!) only rent to female guests.

Household info

We have a cat with a special personality and are particularly looking for someone who loves cats. When we're away, we'd ask for you to look after her and that includes topping up her food/water bowl and cleaning litter tray, Some playing would be good but not as essential as the former. Most of 2019 Sam will be away in NY studying so it will just be me and possibly you. I might rarely put up guests on Airbnb but will make sure notice is given. Also will only rent to female guests.


All utilities are included in the price. That means Electricity, Gas, Water and Internet.

House rules

We're happy to have guests bring guests on occasion. We do have a spare room with single bed for the odd unexpected guest and a sofabed for when parents visit. It does get tight when there are more people staying but having an extra loo comes in very handy! The main rule is no shoes in the house. Sam and I are trying to reduce our plastic use, reduce our waste, be more ethical with our dairy, and part-time vegetarians. We'd like a guest who feels the same.

Similar spare rooms nearby