Jemima
new host
We are a busy London family, half Dutch half-English. We like music, art and sports, and we have two small children. We love South-East London and regularly take part in local cultural activities.
Languages I speak: English, Dutch, French and Spanish, a bit Arabic and a bit Persian
My sleeping habits: early bird
My kind of tea: strong

Light modern ensuite bedroom in large Victorian house close to Brixton

Brixton, London, United Kingdom
It's an airy, spacious modern bedroom with it's own private bathroom for your sole use. It's on the top floor of the house, overlooking a very quiet leafy street, with big trees outside the window. The room has a double bed, a wardrobe and bookshelves. There would be room for a small desk which can be added if required. The house is spacious, newly refurbished, with wooden floor throughout. The house used to be a freemasons lodge, it has a lot of charm and character. Downstairs is the shared kitchen which opens onto the back garden, it has underfloor heating and all the required amenities. We have a cleaner who comes twice a week. The area is quiet and residential, very accessible by public transport - Loughborough Junction station is a 5-min walk which gets you into the city (Elephant & Castle, Blackfriars, City Thameslink are all 5 to 10 mins away). We're also a 15 min from Brixton centre, which has the Victoria line (24 hour on weekends). There's plenty of buses going to South-East, South-West and Central London. The area has a lot to offer, being right in between the different villages of South-East London (East Dulwich, Herne Hill, Camberwell and Brixton) and right in between two lovely parks - Myatts field and Ruskin Park. There's supermarkets nearby - Coop at the end of the road, the Junction pub which has live jazz every night, and you'll find plenty of restaurants in Brixton village.

Amenities

All utilities are included in the price. That means Energy (Electricity and Gas), Water and Internet.

Amenities are split into Private (things in your room) and Shared (things in the communal areas of the house, e.g. Kitchen, Living Room, Bathroom).

Ideal guest

Happy to host either a single occupant or a couple. Our ideal guest would be someone who speaks languages or is interested in languages, especially Dutch or German - as we are a half English half Dutch household. Someone who likes children, someone responsible who will treat our home with respect and clean up after themselves. Optional: if you are able to help with the children occasionally, on weekday evenings - we could negotiate on the rent if you are able to provide regular help, e.g. one afternoon a week, and/or occasional babysitting.

House rules

No smoking No overnight visitors Daytime visitors by prior arrangement

Household info

Me and my husband and our two children No pets.

Similar spare rooms nearby